Chakra System Healing » Ways to mend the Rainbow Bridge

What is a Chakra?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word which translates to wheel or disk. They are the spinning spheres of bioenergetic activity emanating from the major nerve ganglia branching forward from the spinal column. Clairvoyants have described these locations in the body to have energy fields that resemble rotating color wheels that are somewhat funnel like. There are also minor chakras located throughout the body but I will only touch on the major 7 in my articles here.

Each Chakra has a developmental stage to note on. And our first journey through developing the rainbow bridge starts before we are even born!

Learn more about each Chakra and when it develops initially by reading the articles in this series. I reference a lot of teachings from Anodea Judith as I refer to her book Eastern Body, Western Mind often. I highly recommend this book for your library.

Why Chakra Healing

This world has many overstimulating aspects. Therefore, Chakra healing can be an important daily activity to help keep you in harmony with your environment. And it can be a continuous balancing act to maintain a healthy mind/body/spirit.

Keeping your chakras balanced is a lifelong maintenance routine. Chakra healing from our initial developmental cycle can be easier if we understand what happened when we were young. During self discovery you can find practices that fit to help you grow and heal.

The Chakras at a glance

It is my intent to expand on each of these in their own blog post in the near future. For now here is the Rainbow Bridge, Chakra System, at a glance:

Muladhara (root)

Muladhara - Root Chakra
Muladhara – Root Chakra
  • Location: Base of spine; Coccygeal plexus
  • Color: Red
  • Purpose: Foundation
  • Demon: Fear
  • Developmental Stage: 2nd Trimester to 12 months
  • Basic rights: To be here and have

Root Chakra Affirmations

Ways to Heal the Root Chakra

  • Affirmations. As suggested above.
  • Spend time in nature.
  • Physical activity. (Dancing, Hatha yoga, aerobics)
  • Massage.
  • Looking in to childhood wounds.

Svadhisthana (sweetness)

Svadhisthana - Sacral Chakra
Svadhisthana – Sacral Chakra
  • Location: Lower abdomen; Sacral plexus
  • Color: Orange
  • Purpose: Movement and connection
  • Demon: Guilt
  • Developmental Stage: 6 months to 2 years
  • Basic rights: To feel and have pleasure

Sacral Chakra Affirmations

Ways to heal the Sacral Chakra

  • Affirmations. As suggested above.
  • Develop sensate intelligence.
  • Movement therapy.
  • Boundary work.
  • Inner child work.

Manipura (lustrous gem)

Manipura - Solar Plexus Chakra
Manipura – Solar Plexus Chakra
  • Location: Solar Plexus
  • Color: Yellow
  • Purpose: Transformation
  • Demon: Shame
  • Developmental Stage: 18 months to 4 years
  • Basic rights: To act and be an individual

Solar Plexus Chakra Affirmations

Ways to heal the Solar Plexus Chakra

  • Affirmations. As suggested above.
  • Vigorous exercise.
  • Grounding and emotional contact.
  • Work on shame issues.
  • Encourage autonomy.

Anahata (unstruck)

Anahata - Heart Chakra
Anahata – Heart Chakra
  • Location: Chest, heart, cardiac plexus
  • Color: green
  • Purpose: Love, Balance
  • Demon: Grief
  • Developmental Stage: 4 to 7 years
  • Basic rights: To love and be loved

Heart Chakra Affirmations

Ways to heal the Heart Chakra

  • Affirmations. As suggested above.
  • Breathing exercises, pranayama
  • Keep a journal.
  • Inner child work.
  • Self acceptance.

Vishuddha (purification)

Vissudha - Throat Chakra
Vissudha – Throat Chakra
  • Location: Throat, pharyngeal plexus
  • Color: blue
  • Purpose: Communication, Creativity
  • Demon: Lies
  • Developmental Stage: 7 to 12 years
  • Basic rights: To speak and be heard

Throat Chakra Affirmations

Ways to heal the Throat Chakra

  • Affirmations. As suggested above.
  • Singing, chanting, toning
  • Loosen neck and shoulder.
  • Learn communication skills.
  • Non-goal-oriented creativity.


Ajna (to perceive & command)

Ajna - Brow Chakra
Ajna – Brow Chakra
  • Location: Forehead, brow, carotid plexus, third eye
  • Color: Indigo
  • Purpose: Pattern recognition
  • Demon: Illusion
  • Developmental Stage: Adolescence
  • Basic rights: To see

Brow Chakra Affirmations

Ways to heal the Third Eye Chakra

  • Affirmations. As suggested above.
  • Meditation.
  • Art therapy.
  • Dreamwork.
  • Grounding with mindfulness.

Sahasrara (thousandfold)

Sahasrara - Crown Chakra
Sahasrara – Crown Chakra
  • Location: Cerebral cortex
  • Color: Violet
  • Purpose: Understanding
  • Demon: Attachment
  • Developmental Stage: Early adulthood and after
  • Basic rights: To know and to learn

Crown Chakra Affirmations

Ways to heal the Crown Chakra

  • Affirmations. As suggested above.
  • Meditation.
  • Spiritual discipline.
  • Reestablish physical, emotional connection (excess).
  • Reestablish spirit connection (deficiency).

Incorporate Healing Practices

Chakra Healing through meditation and affirmations
Chakra Healing – through meditation and affirmations

“Neurons that fire together, wire together.”

Donald Hebb

Inner dialogue is very important during any transformation to a better version of you. Utilizing affirmations can be a great way to rewire the brain and form better ways to respond to challenging situations. Because the brain has the ability to form and reorganize synaptic connections (neuroplasticity) we have the ability to literally change our brain with the use of affirmations.

Hang some of these Affirmation Plaques around your home or workplace to add to your chakra healing practice.

Learn the secret to make affirmations work for you from True Connection.

For an in depth article on why the Chakra symbols have the number of petals they do please refer to The Kundalini Process: The Chakras and their Petals – A Technical Overview. He also touches on the Coccyx Chakra.

Note: Some affiliate links may be scattered throughout these articles.